Tags

, , , , , , ,

When it comes to skincare, I’m pretty much sure that acne is everyone’s number one problem. Those pesky little dots that ruin the pretty canvas of the face–it’s basically the reason why I started investing into skincare, to wage war against pimples. To be able to do this, I have to be particular with the products that I’m using. Not all skincare is for treating acne, some of them might even trigger your skin and cause major breakout.

One of my most favorite products in treating acne is The Body Shop’s Tea Tree Oil. In fact, ever since I started using this oil, I couldn’t live without it. I’m already on my third bottle and even though it’s a bit pricey (495php) for 10mL, I assure you that it’s worth every penny and it is absolutely effective in combating your skincare’s number one enemy.

img_7121

I found out about Tea Tree Oil when I was looking for a face mask and one of the salesladies recommended that I use the Tea Tree Oil Face mask because it help in healing breakouts. That immediately got me. So without thinking twice, I went and purchased the face mask. However, I wasn’t really satisfied with just the face mask because I can only use it 2-3 times a week and I need something that I can use every day to help me with my pimple problem. So I went around the mall and found this in the aisles of The Body Shop store. They had a whole range of Tea Tree Oil products and the lady there was nice enough to help me choose which product might work best for me. She also taught me how to use it and when to stop using it (that I didn’t follow but it didn’t so damage so… I’m just glad my skin can handle my craziness.)

The lady there told me to apply at least two drops each night on the affected area using my fingertips. I should immediately stop using it once the pimple dries because it might burn my skin. What I did was that I generously applied 3-4 drops each night (and sometimes in the morning too!) and I didn’t stop using it even though the pimple dried out already. It didn’t have any negative effect on me (lol thick face haha) but that does not guarantee that it won’t cause any further trouble to other people who might want to use it. If you are planning on purchasing this product, it is best to try it on your arm first before using it on your face. Some websites suggest that this oil should be diluted with water or a few drops should be mixed with your trusted moisturizer instead of directly putting it on your face because it might be too strong for your skin. And to be honest, even though I’m brave enough to use this product more often than I should, there are days that it stung my face soooo bad that I wanted to cry. Which is why I never ever apply this on my bare face. I do all my skincare first–up until the moisturizer before I put this oil because of the risk of it burning my skin.

Also, whenever I use this product, I stay clear in using anything else that has Tea Tree Oil in it because too much might cause our skin to be more sensitive to sunlight and UV rays. This is actually one of the reasons why I decided to start using sun cream. I don’t want a flawless face with patches of black and brown areas all over!

Each bottle lasted me at least a month, but I think if I don’t use it as frequent, it might last for around two to three months. But I also think it depends on how you use it. If you dilute it with water or with your moisturizer, it might last you a long time but if you use it for spot treatment like how I do, it might only last you a few months, but that also depends on how many pimples or trouble areas you have.

img_7122

It comes with child resistant caps which I honestly think is genius for this product. You don’t want this strong antimicrobial product spilled everywhere especially when you bring this while travelling. Also, Tea Tree Oil is toxic when ingested therefore taking precautions when having this around, especially where children are present, is necessary.

img_7123

I honestly don’t know what this packaging is called. Dropper? But not quite exactly. I think this thing is a stopper because it prevents all the product from spilling all over when you tilt the bottle. And at the same time, it also saves you from the hassle of squeezing the bottle for more product(not like it can be squeezed). It only gives you one drop and you have to wait a few more seconds before it releases another drop of tea tree oil. It’s a good way to keep you from using too much.

Tea tree oil comes with a very light and watery consistency so you have to be careful not to pour too much on your fingertips or the products will only end up dripping on your floor. It comes with a therapeutic scent which is very relaxing, it reminds me of the spa.

This product is recommended for those who has blemished skin according to the package. Aside from taming angry pimples, it can also prevent acne from appearing. I have two trouble spots for acne on my face–the bulb of my nose and my left cheek. Ever since I had this product, I would lightly apply a drop of this on those areas in the evening(and 3 drops on ares that has pimples) and I have never had a pimple in my trouble areas since then. Also, it helped in clearing the acne marks and blemishes I had on my cheek.

I absolutely recommend this product to everyone especially those who has acne problems. This is one of the greatest products that I have tried and honestly I cannot imagine my life without it. Even though you don’t have any pimple on your face, it is still good to have a bottle of this is your skincare kit in case of emergency. It’s very handy and is travel friendly, a great investment for someone who wants to have flawless skin.

If you have your own holy grail product for treating acne, let me know in the comment box!

XOXO,

Meesh

