Tags

, , , , ,

img_7228

Hello everyone! The Face Shop is one of the few locally available Korean brands in our city. I usually run to this shop for inexpensive sheet masks, and other skincare products that are for one-time use only, like nose pore strips. I have to be honest, I don’t have a lot of skincare from The Face Shop yet, and this Jeju Volcanic Lava Peel-Off Clay Nose Mask was the very first skincare product that I purchased from their store.

This clay mask caught my attention because I was looking for one of those charcoal peel off masks that everyone has been raving about–I wanted to quit buying packs and packs of nose strips and start investing in a peel off mask. But sadly, I couldn’t find it anywhere in our place. This one was the closest thing I was able to find, and my sister and I were so fascinated with it that we couldn’t stop thinking about this mask after we tried it on the back of our hands using the tester available in the store. So there, after a few days, I decided to purchase it.

I applied the product on the bulb of my nose and on my chin, and waited until it completely dried out before taking it off. This has a thick and sticky consistency that reminded me of glue. The grayish-white color and the scent, which smelled like glue itself,  did make me feel like I’m just applying glue to my face.

As for application, due to the sticky consistency, it was difficult to put an even portion all over the areas that I wanted to cover. At my very first application, I messily applied product on my nose, not caring about how even or how thick it was, and ended up having a really hard time peeling everything off because it would easily break. But after that, I learned my lesson and became more careful in applying the product.

Peeling off was something that I am quite neutral about, because although it’s part of the product’s procedure, I don’t like the fact that my skin needs to be tugged repeatedly in order to completely remove the mask–doing this will increase the chance of having wrinkles in an early age, and I do not want to risk looking old for a smooth, blackhead-free skin.

The greyish-white color made it hard to decipher if the product is really effective in removing blackheads because of the light color, compared to black charcoal masks where you can see everything clearly because of the color contrast. Although I did see that some sebum stuck on the peel off mask after I removed the sheet off my face, I think it would be more satisfying to use a charcoal peel off mask in black color because it shows more than the huge chuck of sebum removed, but also the small hair-like stuff that you didn’t know your nose and chin had.

After removing the mask, my skin instantly felt smooth. And I love the fact that it leaves a matte finish on the surface of the skin.

I honestly thought that I will be using this product at least twice a week, but it ended up in my cabinet, not used a month after my first application. I find it too difficult to apply and remove, and I can’t really see the effects of this product. Personally, I don’t think this product is a good investment. I will try and see if my opinion on charcoal peel off masks are different, because it is possible that I just didn’t like this product, but not peel off masks.

If you have a holy grail peel off mask or any other product suggestions, please let me know!

Until then,

Meesh πŸ™‚

