Sample Review: Skinfood Royal Honey Essential Toner and Emulsion

img_6580

This blog post is another addition to my TO PURCHASE OR NOT TO PURCHASE? Series. I just decided not to put that phrase on the title anymore because it’s too long. Anyway, for this review I’ll be talking about Skinfood’s Royal Honey Essential Toner and Emulsion. This is actually one of the first few samples that I had—way before I started this blog, which is why I’m almost out of the toner (as you can see in the photo above.) I use this along with another Skincare sample duo from Skinfood (I’ll be doing another blog post about that soon.) whenever I travel. If I used this product alone for consecutive days, I think this will last me a week–enough for me to decide if I really liked the product or not.

(I don’t know if it bothers you, but I talk about both the toner and emulsion as one because they both go together, like bacon and eggs. But I’ll be reviewing the two products individually.)

I actually stole this from my mother when she bought some products at Skinfood. Stole, as in the moment the cashier offered her the samples, I took them and told her they’re mine. My mom just rolled my eyes on me and took her shopping bag. I wanted to have Royal Honey samples because I love honey products, they’re absolutely moisturizing and I feel my skin become plumper whenever I use something with honey on my face. Therefore whenever I see a product with honey on it, I immediately decide that it’s for me.

Anyway, here’s are my thoughts:

Essential Toner – It has a watery consistency which makes it easy to apply. It also doesn’t take long until you feel your skin absorb all the product. My skin instantly felt hydrated after application. The only bad side of this toner is the scent. It smells really old, which isn’t surprising because Royal Honey is aged honey. However, I didn’t like it because it also makes me feel old. My goal in using skincare products is to look and feel young and fresh. That scent makes me feel the otherwise.

To purchase or not to purchase? Nope. I would highly recommend this product for other people because I know it’s a good one. But then I really didn’t appreciate the smell. I’m quite particular with the fragrances, so a single scent that I don’t like will instantly put me off–the only thing that will make me put up with a scent that I don’t like is when I desperately need the product, like if it’s prescribed by the doctor. But if it isn’t necessary, it’s a no.

Essential Emulsion – I actually liked this product. It was difficult to get an ample amount of the product off the container due to the stickiness. But once applied to the face, the stickiness instantly fades after a minute or two and the skin immediately feels smooth and soft. This product does not have the odd scent that the essential toner had–which is a plus for me.

To purchase or not to purchase? Probably. I’m not yet sure if I should invest in emulsions because I think moisturizers and overnight creams work best for my skin. However, if ever I decide to make emulsions a staple in my skincare routine, this would be among my choices.

Also, I have realized lately that Skinfood products are way more expensive in their physical stores here in the Philippines compared to online stores–they’re like twice the price! So I don’t think I’ll be purchasing from Skinfood that often (in physical stores) unless if I like the samples that they are offering.

That’s all for this review. If you have questions or suggestions, let me know 🙂

XOXO

Meesh ❤

2 thoughts on “Sample Review: Skinfood Royal Honey Essential Toner and Emulsion

  1. phashionbug says:

    nice review, I think its a smart move to try out samples before deciding on spending your money. I haven’t tried any emulsion from Korean skincare, have heard great things about it . This one also looks tempting.
    xx
    Saabri

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

