My 11-step Evening Skincare Routine (Part 1)

img_7205

That group photo of my babies sure looks overwhelming! Before anything else, I don’t use all of these products above at once, there are some that I alternate in using while there are some that I only use once or twice a week. It depends on my mood and my skincare needs for that day.

This is my second lineup for my evening skincare routine. I did not exactly run out of anything from the first one, I was just in that “exploring” stage for skincare (since I’m still new to this) so tried and purchased a few products that I found interesting. I retained a few items from my first routine because I found them sufficient and effective for me. I replaced a few of them not necessarily because they don’t work for me, but it’s because I just want to explore my options or because the product is too interesting for me to resist.

I’m going to cut this post in two parts because this one will be really long, and I might bore you guys somewhere in the middle of the post if I give it all in one go. For this part I’ll discuss about the products I’m using for the first five steps: First and second cleanser, exfoliator, toner, and essence.

Read: My 2016 Skincare Routine

Step 1: First Cleanser

img_7207

Banila Co.’s Clean It Zero – At first I really wasn’t thinking of doing some double cleansing because I don’t think I need it since I don’t really use makeup. But then lately I became more conscious of my skin and I started using concealer, and thus I found the need to embrace double cleansing in my world.

This was among my top choices for a cleansing balm but it was always unavailable online so I thought of using a cleansing oil instead since I already tried a sampler from one of Etude House’s cleansing oils. However, while I was strolling down the mall, I found this and I purchased it without having any second thoughts. I really enjoyed using this product, it did improve my skincare routine because my skin started absorbing the other products that I apply after I started using this easier –it effectively breaks that barrier that cannot be removed by my regular foaming cleanser but at the same time it keeps my skin healthy by not stripping off all the good oils. I really love this product because it feels very luxurious to apply and it has a scent that I can go on smelling the whole day. I can’t exactly pinpoint if it’s floral or citrus(y), or a mixture of both. All I know is that I love it. I want a perfume that smells like this gem.

Step 2: Second Cleanser

img_7208

Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Cleansing Foam – This cleanser is highly recommended for people with oily skin. This isn’t the perfect product for someone like me who has normal skin with dry patches along the nose area, however I didn’t see that as a problem while I was using this. Some say that it might be drying for my skin type, but I think the moisturizers and the other products that I use along with this compensated for it because I don’t feel any dryness at all. However, I am not saving this product from negative criticism. I’d be honest, its not my favorite and I don’t think I will be repurchasing this cleanser once I’m done with it. Simply because it has small beads in it and I don’t really feel comfortable with them especially when I have an ugly acne on my face–I feel restricted from massaging the product on the surface of my skin. It terms of effectiveness, this cleanser does its job well in cleansing, and my face instantly feel refreshed after using this–like all the layers of sunscreen and dust that my skin gathered the whole day were gone.

Step 3: Exfoliator 

Exfoliation is something that I have always been mildly obsessed with. I have not tried any clinical procedure that involves exfoliation–like peeling, whatsoever. But I always get hyped about exfoliating products because I’ve always thought that it is the key to smooth and flawless skin–much like how sandpaper is to wood. My primary goal in skincare is to remove the tiny bumps on my nose that totally looks weird whenever I have makeup on (because it becomes obvious), so I was hoping that exfoliation can help me with that problem thus it is one of my main focuses whenever I go skincare shopping. I’m currently using three exfoliators–one daily, and the other two once or twice a week, depends on my skin condition.

img_7209

CosRX One Step Pimple Clear Pad – Both my sister and I use this product. Between the two of us, she’s the one who has oily and more acne-prone skin. After a month of using this daily, her acne lessened and her face started bearing a healthy, dewy shine. In my case, I use this one to three times a day (I’ve Googled it, it’s safe for normal skin.)–depending on my skin condition. I only use it thrice if I have a breakout and my skin needs more care than it should. Otherwise, I use this once or twice during regular days. It is indeed effective in clearing pimples and it prevents breakouts from happening. I went for an Advanced Acne Facial Treatment two weeks after using this and I was actually disappointed because they didn’t do much on my skin. They said that I didn’t have a lot of blackheads and other impurities for them to remove. I feel like I just wasted my money on nothing, but at least I found out that this product really did help clear my skin from the inside!

img_7210

Skinfood Black Sugar Wash Off Mask – I use this mask once or twice a week. Usually after I get back from a travel, because we don’t know what kind of pollutants our skin can gather from different places. I leave this on my face for at least 15 minutes and gently wash it off with water. My skin would instantly look lighter and feel smoother after application. What I love the most about this product is the scent, this smells like roasted sugar with a hint of citrus–or honey with it, I couldn’t tell. But the fragrance is really sweet that sometimes I’d stay in my bathroom longer because I would just sniff on this product.

Innisfree Green Barley Gommage Peeling Mask – This one is a really interesting exfoliator. I use this less often than the Sugar Mask–usually when I have a very alive and angry pimple on my face because this one is less abrasive than the other. This peeling mask does a good job in removing dead skin cells as it shows physical results–by physical, I mean physical peeling. It’s fun because you can see lumps of your dead skin cells form as you gently massage this product on your face. Sometimes I use this product on my underarm for exfoliation.

Step 4: Toner

img_7212

Etude House Honey Cera Toner – I am so in love with the scent of this product, I sometimes dream of it. This toner has a milky consistency and is very easy to apply. After putting this on my face, I feel an instant surge of moisture because it easily absorbs into the skin. I have never felt any stinging sensation whenever I apply this toner. Anyway, I think this product is what a toner should really be. Relaxing, refreshing, and hydrating. I actually didn’t understand how come this was a toner because I always thought that toners are supposed to remove excess dirt and must be used with a cotton ball. However, upon research, I found out that toners are supposed to tone the skin, in preparation for the next skincare steps. I think this baby does a good job in that. I’m almost out and I really want to repurchase it, I just can’t find it anywhere in both local and online stores.

Step 5: Essence

img_7213

The Body Shop Drops of Light Pure Translucency Essence Lotion – They say that the Essence is the essence of Korean Skincare. It’s funny how I have a non-Korean product for this step, and I’m not sure if using this would be better or not because I haven’t tried a Korean Essence yet. However, after a few months of using this, I can attest that it does give what it promises, my skin looks brighter and radiant–it gives an instant glow especially when there’s light. This isn’t my favorite product, I don’t hate it either, but after I’m done with my two bottles* of this, I’ll start curating for a Korean essence so I can compare which product is better. My skincare routine isn’t strict to only-Korean products, although I want to try having an all-Korean routine soon because after all, this obsession is inspired by the 10-step Korean Skincare Routine.

*I have two bottles because this was on my Christmas list, and two of my aunts gave me the same thing. 

So that’s it for the first 5 steps of my 11-step Evening Skincare Routine. Please stay tuned for the next 6 steps which I will be posting somewhere next week. It’s going to be a long post so I hope you guys will like it.

The next six steps can be read here!

If you guys have some product recommendations, especially for the essence, please let me know.

I’ll talk to you guys soon! XOXO,

Meesh ❤

7 thoughts on “My 11-step Evening Skincare Routine (Part 1)

  1. singleshotchai says:

    I haven’t tried CosRX One Step Pimple Clear Pad, but I had thought of purchasing it. I’m of Combination skin and the fact that it had positive effect on you and and your sister made me put it on my list of things to buy next. Where did you get yours?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

