Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

IMG_7802

This holy grail acne-fighting pad from CosRX is an instant favorite for me and my sister. I first came across this product last January when I was reading some beauty blog–I can’t exactly remember if it was from BeautyMNL or Charlotte Cho’s Klog, but I remember it saying that this will be one of those skincare products that will definitely make 2017 a better year–or something like that. Since I have a penchant for exfoliators, and I have read a lot of good things about this product, I included it on my first Althea haul and bought it for 1,000php. Before I got my package, I saw this baby in our local Watsons store and it’s remarkably cheaper at 665php each box. There was only one left so I convinced my sister to get it for herself. She’s struggling with her acne due to puberty and oily skin, thus it wasn’t really difficult to persuade her to get this product. I’m also lucky because she believes in anything that I say! Haha.

I first started using this product both day and night, and sometimes, if I have time, I would also use it in the afternoon. After two weeks of using this two-three times a day, my face became clearer and I noticed that less acne were appearing on my skin. I also went for a facial treatment after a few weeks, and the lady there told me that I don’t have that much blackheads anymore (I was wondering why they barely did any pricking on my skin) and I guess I owe that to the exfoliating power of this product.

I grew up thinking that exfoliators and pimple-clearing products may cause drying or irritation so I’m always careful in using such products. I’m actually quite unsure of how I’d use this at first because I’m afraid that I might end up with red patches all over my face–but these pads were really gentle and non-drying. Since then, this became a must-have staple on my skincare and though it’s quite bulky, I bring it with me in all my travels. Also, I do think that I need this more whenever I travel because I can also use the pads to cleanse my face whenever I’m too tired to do all of my skincare rituals.

My sister’s experience with this product made me believe in its power even more. She has tiny red bumps all over her forehead before she had this exfoliator. Now, I don’t see my sister that often so whatever change happens to her face, I notice. After a week or so of using these pads, I noticed that although her face still has pimples all over, it looked tamed and smooth. From angry red bumps they became pink and light. I also noticed that her face looks more dewy than oily. Thus I can say that this does have a positive effect on her skin.

I do have a small concern, though. I bought mine at Althea while she bought hers at our local Watsons store. I didn’t notice this before but right when I was purchasing my second tub from the famous drugstore, I noticed a difference on the boxes from Althea Korea and Watsons.

IMG_7803

The one on your left hand side is from Althea Korea, while the one on the right is from Watsons. As you guys can notice, the one from Watsons looks quite blurry in contrast to the very clear packaging of the one from Althea. After realizing this, I started wondering… are the CosRX products from Watsons actually counterfeit?  Knowing that the ones from Watsons are almost half the price cheaper, I started to worry.

I then started checking everything else. The material used for the box, the size, the tub used for the pads, and the pads itself–they’re all the same. All the same except for the front portion. There seems to be no difference with the product itself, because when I was still using my tub from Korea, I would leave it in my apartment whenever I go home and use pads from my sister’s tub that was bought from the said drugstore. I didn’t notice any difference at all. Plus, the one from Watsons had a very positive effect on my sisters face–she actually started panicking when there was only a few pads left on her tub and she can’t find another one of these in all the Watsons outlets that she has gone to. Thus when she saw my tweet saying that I found CosRX in SM Lanang, she begged me to buy her these pimple clear pads for her birthday.

Over all, I still do think that the ones from Watsons are authentic. There might be a slight difference in the packaging because of the distribution. However, if ever it will be proven that the pimple pads from Watsons are indeed counterfeit, I will proceed purchasing my supply from Althea Korea despite the huge price difference. We should all support authentic products no matter how good the counterfeits are, because the real producers deserve the income, not the copycats.

I totally recommend this product to everyone, especially those who are struggling with acne. The mild exfoliation prevents impurities from clogging up in our pores and helps us in making our skin appear brighter, fresher, and smoother.

Hope this post helps you in your skincare journey. If you know anything about the CosRX products locally available in Philippine drugstores, please let me know!

XOXO,

Meesh 🙂

