Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_8138

Vitamin C is said to have anti-aging properties that will prevent the skin from wrinkling plus it also gives the skin that glow, making it appear radiant, fresh, and younger. It also evens out the skin tone, which means this can be handy when it comes to getting rid of acne scars.

All of the things mentioned above are something that I would die for my skin to have, thus, knowing that the Vitamin C range from Body Shop offers all of those good things to my skin, it became on top of my skincare product wishlist. This SPF30 was actually a Christmas gift to me as a result of a slight misunderstanding–I originally wanted the Vitamin C Glow Boosting Moisturizer. Anyway, I wasn’t bummed out that I got this product instead because I have been reading a lot of articles about skincare and all of them are screaming on how important SPF is–and I’m not using SPF–I had to intention to until I got this product. I took it as a sign from the universe and thus my morning skincare routine was born.

But that’s another story.

(READ: My 8-step Morning Skincare Routine)

IMG_8139

(I know I put too much for a sample, I’m sorry.)

The lotion has a quite heavy consistency with a really strong orange scent. It isn’t my cup of tea but I’m quite sure that other people will enjoy the citrus-y fragrance. It doesn’t leave a sticky residue and it doesn’t produce an unpleasant shine. I actually thought that this product will be a favorite on my first application. However, as I decided to incorporate a whole set of products for my morning routine to go with this SPF, it becomes heavy and shiny and uncomfortable. It actually worries me because the stickiness might accumulate dust and dirt on my face, making it a breeding ground for pimple-causing elements.

The uncomfortable shine and stickiness can be reduced with concealer and face powder, though. But as for someone like me who prefers my face bare during the morning, a tiny unusual feeling on my face gives me discomfort.

IMG_8140

This was my arm after I spread the product evenly. If you compare both photos, the fine lines were instantly reduced and the promised “glow” is present. It doesn’t leave a whit cast at all which is a major plus.

With continued use, I noticed that my face actually did look and feel younger. It looked more alive than ever–trust me on this, I used to look like a zombie all the time. The Vitamin C is really doing its wonders and this SPF really does its job in protecting. I didn’t have any breakouts!

However, as I have mentioned before, this product does not have a nice reaction to other skincare when layered. That has been my problem with this which is why I preferred using a different SPF that goes neatly with my routine. Also, even though there are times when my face wouldn’t feel that sticky or heavy, the seemingly-oily shine was just too much. To put it simple, the look that this SPF gives me when used with other products does not gather compliments, it gathers curious questions from people around me–which I don’t like. I only use this product indoors, where people wouldn’t see me because I still want to receive all the good minerals from this lotion.

I think this product is meant to be used for the summer, where people won’t judge a person’s face because there’s a shiny film of sunscreen on it. I also think that not getting a shiny film is also possible with this product as long as the previous products have been completely absorbed by the skin and the surface is dry. I think this will also work fine with people who use makeup on a daily basis–this might just give that seemingly natural dewy glow that can replace those highlighters.

That’s all for today. What’s your trusty SPF? Please leave a comment below.

Thanks!

Meesh 🙂

