Sample Review: Iope Moistgen Skin Hydration Set

IMG_8486

I got this kit for free from Althea Korea last February. They offered to give a few samples to customers and I was lucky enough to avail of it before they ran out of stock.  (related: UNBOXING: Althea Korea Sample Set) As you guys know, I’m a frequent traveller thus samples are indeed very handy for me. I don’t need to worry about my skincare routine that much and purchase a lot of small bottles where I can put a small amount of my favorite products in because I can use the opportunity to try on my samples instead.

I’ve been using the IOPE Moistgen Skin Hydration set on my last few travels. They’re only 2-3 days long at most thus I cannot really judge the long term effects of the said products, my review will be based on my first impression with the samples involved. It won’t be anything too comprehensive or too critical.

Softener – This has a light consistency which is somehow thicker than water. It absorbs very quickly into the skin.  I can say that it is indeed hydrating. Also, it leaves a slightly sticky film on the face but it goes away after a few minutes.

TO PURCHASE OR NOT TO PURCHASE? Although I like this product because it’s not that heavy, I think there are other toners/softeners there that would fit my preferences better. This product isn’t light enough for me, so, no. 

Serum – Although this serum has a light creamy consistency, I find it quite sticky and difficult to apply–I had to take more than what I originally took from the bottle several times to make sure that my whole face had been covered. However, I can say that this product easily absorbs into the skin.

TO PURCHASE OR NOT TO PURCHASE? I had difficulty with this product with my first few tries thus I am unimpressed by it, so, no.

Eye Cream – I haven’t tried a lot of eye creams yet, but I think this one is my favorite. Too bad I don’t have it in full size. I like it because it’s creamy and it easily absorbs. I don’t need to worry about accidentally putting some products in my eye as I glide it carefully below my lashline.

TO PURCHASE OR NOT TO PURCHASE? PURCHASE. DEFINITELY.

Emulsion – Although it’s really difficult to get some product from the very small bottle due to its creamy consistency, I liked how smooth and easy it was to apply this emulsion. It also absorbs really quickly, but it still leaves a heavy feeling on the skin especially after all the products applied beforehand. However, that feeling gave me the assurance that this does hydrate the skin as what it promises.

TO PURCHASE OR NOT TO PURCHASE? Definitely among my choices for an emulsion.

Cream – The last among all the products but definitely not the least. This has a light creamy consistency but somehow I find it difficult to apply. This cream is quite sticky–which is an immediate turndown for me… and it feels heavy on the skin.

TO PURCHASE OR NOT TO PURCHASE? No.

All the products from this set came from the same line thus each one of them has a common trait with the others–they all have similar scents and they all have a similar hydrating feeling on the skin due to the fast absorption. These products had no negative effect on my skin–I did not breakout nor did it change anything. Also, it barely had a positive effect either. The skin only feels moisturized in the first few hours after application. When I wake up in the morning after a few good hours of sleep, my skin does not feel different at all. Which is quite disappointing because there is a change of skincare routine whenever I use this set–I deviate from my usual products–which means that it should have at least a small but noticeable effect on my skin to verify its effectiveness. My skin didn’t feel extra supple or extra smooth or extra fresh at all unlike when I try new products in which I am blown away by the immediate results. I don’t think this set does anything to my skin at all. Although I am very willing to buy a full size of the eye cream because I really liked its consistency and how smooth the application was.

I don’t really know to whom I should recommend these products, but they might give better results when used regularly. I do think that they are able to give the skin that hydration as long as they are used for a longer period of time. People with dry skin should give this line fro IOPE a try.

XOXO,

Meesh 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sample Review: Iope Moistgen Skin Hydration Set

Leave a Reply

