Other Stories: My March 2017 Book Haul

IMG_8558

When I’m not hoarding skincare products, I’m hoarding books! Not only that, I also make sure that despite the mountain of unread books that I have, I get to read all of them. It wasn’t really a problem during my college days because I had a lot of extra time to read, but right now I can really say that reading is a luxury–especially when it’s an actual book!

As much as possible, I refrain from reading ebooks–unless if they were given for free or if they were purchased. I don’t really have an issue with reading through my phone and my laptop, it’s just that I really prefer giving back to the author for his or her effort in writing a book by purchasing the book. It is my way of supporting the writer and helping him or her gain that recognition. Although I can’t really say if the book is really great because I haven’t read it before purchasing and I’m only basing my judgement on the cover and the reviews, at least I can say that “Oh, this book looks like it’s worth the money!” and if I were an author, if someone finds my work worth paying for, I would be in cloud nine.

Anyway, here are the books that I purchased for the month of March and the reason why I bought it.

My (not so) Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella (Fully Booked, Abreeza Mall) – Sophie Kinsella is my favorite Chick Literature author of all time. I’ve read all of her books except for the ones under her pen name Madeleine Wickham (but I definitely plan on reading them soon.) These days, I wasn’t really as updated about her releases as before so when I saw this book in the mall, I was absolutely surprised and happy and excited–I can’t breathe! I missed Sophie Kinsella so much and the book seemed really interesting and something  I could relate to, so I bought it without thinking twice.

Learning to Fall and Tempting Victoria by Mina V. Esguerra (National Bookstore, SM Mall of Asia) – I first learned about Mina V. Esguerra through a classmate, and she told me that this author often gives free digital copies of her books and short stories on her website, she told me that she writes chick literature which made me really interested in reading her work thus I went to check out her website. I then downloaded and read a few of them and I immediately fell in love with her works. I’ve been looking for physical copies of her books in the bookstores here in Davao, but I never really found one. Good thing I was able to drop by SM Mall of Asia this month and found a lot of her books in the National Bookstore. I was actually meaning to purchase four different books written by her, but I narrowed it down to these two. It was really a tough decision because I wanted all of them. But I realized that if I purchase too many, I may not have time to read all the books that I have, or I may forget that I have them.

The Summer Solstice and Other Stories by Nick Joaquin (National Bookstore, SM Mall of Asia) – The Summer Solstice is a required reading for some literature classes in my university. Too bad I was a transferee and my literature courses were credited from by previous school and thus I didn’t have the luxury of reading this gem by Nick Joaquin during my undergraduate studies. So, when I saw this book, I decided to add it to my cart.

Twisted 8 1/2 by Jessica Zafra (National Bookstore, SM Mall of Asia) – Because Jessica Zafra. I’ve been reading her works since 2015 and they never fail to amaze me. Aside from the fact that they are witty, they also make me think about things. If you enjoy sarcasm and you know better than being offended when awful realities are pointed out to you, read her works!

Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire (National Bookstore, Abreeza Mall) – I’ve read the first book, Wicked, last 2014 and was meaning to read the whole series but it kinda never happened because I was drowned with schoolwork and I had a lot of books to read in queue. This book was always in my list of books to buy, but I always find something else to purchase instead. It’s not that I didn’t like it, it’s just that I’m hoping to find a trade paperback because it looks prettier and they’re so much easier to read. Too bad I never found one through my years of searching. What prompted me to buy this paperback was when my cousin and I went to watch the Wicked Musical in Solaire last month. I just loved the surge of memories of what I read in the book while watching the musical.  To be honest, I’m quite surprised I still remembered a lot of details!

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho (National Bookstore, Abreeza Mall) – This is one of the popular books out there that I never really had the chance to read. It’s a shame that I only read one book by Paulo Coelho and was never really able to join the hype with his works back then. Oh well, it’s not too late to read anything, so here I go!

Those are my book purchases for the month of March. I honestly wanted to buy a few more books, but decided that I should at least space my purchases because I know I can’t really read them all that fast. I made myself a note that I should at least finish reading two books before I buy another one–or another few. Haha! Also, I still have a few books that I haven’t read prior to this haul, so I’ll have to clear out my unread books too.

At the beginning of the year, I made myself a book challenge in goodreads and I’m currently 8 books behind for a total of 50 books for this year. I’m still hoping I would be able to catch up. After all, it’s just the beginning of the year, a lot of things can still happen!

If you want to check out my goodreads profile, here’s the link.

If you have book recommendations, please let me know! We might have the same taste, so do check out my goodreads if you want to find out what other books I read.

That’s all for now,

Meesh ❤

One thought on “Other Stories: My March 2017 Book Haul

Leave a Reply

