Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_8639

Caring for my lips is something that I cannot just take for granted. I have really dry lips and a day without applying any form of moisturizer on it leaves it chapped and sometimes it would crack and bleed. Ugly, I know. Which is why I’m very particular with the lip products that I use.

I have mentioned it before that it took me a very long time to find a lip balm that would satisfy my needs. I have a lot of lipbalms in my closet, hidden, because I made the mistake of purchasing them–hoping that they would help me give my lips the life I wanted it to have. They’re not generally bad, but they’re not just enough for me. But finally, I was able to find the lip products that were totally effective this year. However, I accidentally put some of Innisfree’s Jeju Volcanic Pore Clay Mask on my lips and it totally changed its texture. Suddenly, all the lip products that I was using wasn’t enough and I had to find other means to rescue my drying lips (and no, kissing won’t solve this problem.)

(RELATED: 2016 Skincare Routine)

(RELATED: My 8-Step Morning Skincare Routine)

(RELATED: My 11-Step Skincare Routine (Part 2))

I have been eyeing this particular lip butter from Nivea since last month. I was curious because it’s raspberry and I totally love the scent of raspberry. Also, Nivea is a brand that I have always trusted and I have been using their products way before I became brand conscious. Anyway, my lip problem prompted me to finally buy this lip butter. I wasn’t really hoping that this would save me because I thought that exfoliating is the answer. However, I still wanted to try this product out for the heck of it.

Also, I’m already running out of my L’occitane lip balm. I was thinking that if this lip butter works good on me, I might convert to using this instead. Although lip balms are said to be more focused on repairing and moisturizing the lips and they stay longer than lip butters. There’s nothing wrong with trying, right?

I wasn’t really expecting any drastic change from this lip butter, lip products had always disappointed me since I started using them.

IMG_8640

So this is what it looks like. Guys, I cannot stress enough how good this product smells like. It’s totally heavenly! It reminds me of Skittles and Laffy Taffy. Too bad it didn’t taste anything like that.

Its consistency is obviously buttery–creamier than the usual lip balm. It easily glides on the lips and it leaves a pinkish cast, which didn’t bother me at all. This lip butter also easily melts so I had to reapply it once or twice a day to keep my skin moisturized.

After a few days of using this product, I noticed that my lips were starting to go back to normal after the mishap that my pore clay mask caused. I’m not a skincare expert so I can’t really say how my mask changed my lips’ texture and how this product reverted it back to normal. It’s probably because this lip butter restored the moisture that the volcanic clay mask absorbed. Well, this only shows that both products does their jobs well. (I’ll post a review on my Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Clay Mask soon.)

Since then, I’ve been using this product daily. The constant reapplication didn’t bother me at all because I am totally in love with its scent, and the moisture that it provides was enough for me to feel good about my lips once more.

This product will be perfect for colder weathers because of the instant moisture that a small amount of it gives to the lips. Given that fact, I’m sure that this product will last me a really long time. I’ve used this for weeks now and yet it looks like it was only slightly used.

The only thing that needs improvement with this product is the packaging, it’s quite difficult to open. Aside from that, this lip butter is definitely a favorite.

XOXO,

Meesh ❤

 

 

