Product Review: Nivea Refreshingly Soft Moisturizing Cream

IMG_8951

Hello everyone! Here’s another review for Nivea. I remember purchasing this because I had to go to Baguio City for a few days and I needed something that would prevent my skin from drying. I did not bother that much with a moisturizer before because I was afraid that my psoriasis would react badly with drugstore products. The last moisturizer that I used for my body was bought from my dermatologist and I have already stopped going to the clinic for years–ditching the moisturizer and other products as well because my skin had been tamed already, and was already doing good after months of medication. My skin didn’t need extensive observation anymore and thus I stopped going to the dermatologist and maintained my skin’s good condition with the prescribed anti-psoriasis ointment and soap. I was hesitant in trying other products for my skin because it might flare up and trigger my psoriasis.

I didn’t think I would ever need anything else for my skin (except for my face) until a recent trip to the United Kingdom where the weather ranged from 8 to 13 Celsius left my hands all itchy and flaky. It flared so bad that I was ashamed of using them in public. Big red patches stare right back at me every time I do simple things that involved using my hands. I thought I would never encounter skin problems during the trip because I used moisturizer on my face and brought my handy-dandy anti-psoriasis ointment with me–after all, I didn’t have any skin problem when we went to Hong Kong on a December without using any moisturizer. But boy, I was wrong. Thus, when I found out that we were going to Baguio, I made sure to bring a moisturizer with me.

Of course, I was hesitant to purchase a random moisturizer from the drugstore without any dermatologist or health practitioner telling me which is good and which is bad. I had to rely on my judgement thus I chose something from a brand that I have been using for years, Nivea. Although I know that the whole body must be moisturized, I only used Nivea’s Refreshingly Soft Moisturizing Cream on my hands and feet. I’m still not that keen on slathering products all over my body, thus I only chose to put this cream on areas that might be exposed with the coldness and air. They need moisture the most because they will be battling with the dryness first among everything else.

IMG_8952

It’s a very lightweight cream which spreads pretty easy on the skin without leaving any stickiness which I liked. A small amount goes a long way and it does not take much time before the skin fully absorbs the product. After application, the skin feels really soft and supple–although the product feels more like a lotion than a cream, it isn’t slippery thus it is very safe to be applied on the soles of the feet. I usually apply the cream in the morning after I take a bath and in the evening after I’m done with my nightly rituals. I don’t really carry this around thus I cannot apply it in the middle of the day, but I don’t think it’s that necessary because I don’t feel my hands and feet drying up at all.

Also, this product kind of smells like the usual Nivea products–I can’t really put a finger on it. Baby wipes? Baby powder? All I know is that I feel like a baby whenever I have this cream on because it smells like something you would use for a newborn.

Overall, I think this is a great moisturizing cream for the hands and feet. My only problem with this product is the packaging because for something really light and soft, application can get a little messy sometimes–not to mention, unhygienic. I would prefer creams with consistency similar to this to be put on a squeeze bottle to avoid using and wasting too much product. Also, this isn’t something that anyone can carry around for every day use because as I have said, it’s pretty much inconvenient to use a tub whenever or wherever compared to a squeeze bottle that you can just squeeze on your palm and put the cap on anytime and anywhere.

This moisturizing cream is very useful for colder weathers. Very moisturizing and it smoothens the skin. It prevents the skin from drying and flaking.

What’s your trusted hand and feet cream?

XOXO,

Meesh

One thought on “Product Review: Nivea Refreshingly Soft Moisturizing Cream

Leave a Reply

